Providers Eligible for Medi-Cal Payment

smiling female doctor looking at notes on a clipboard

Qualifying ACE screenings are eligible for payment in any clinical setting in which billing occurs through Medi-Cal fee-for-service or to a network provider of a managed care plan. For services provided on or after January 1, 2020, the following enrolled Medi-Cal provider types are eligible to receive payment:

  • Certified Nurse Midwife
  • Certified Nurse Practitioner
  • Group Certified Nurse Practitioners
  • Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment Services Providers
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker – Individual, Group
  • Licensed Nurse Midwife
  • Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor – Individual, Group
  • Marriage and Family Therapist – Individual, Group
  • Physician
  • Physician Group
  • Psychologist
  • County Hospital – Outpatient
  • County Clinics not associated with a Hospital
  • Indian Health Services (IHS)/Memorandum of Agreement
  • Otherwise Undesignated Clinic
  • Outpatient Heroin Detox Center
  • Rehabilitation Clinic
  • Rural Health Clinic (RHC)/Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC)
  • In-state and border providers

To receive payment through Medi-Cal managed care, the provider also needs to be a network provider of a Medi-Cal managed care health plan billing for services provided to a member of that health plan.


Becoming ACEs Aware in California logo. Photo of care provider with patient.

Join us in making all of California ACEs Aware today.

Take the Training